The Circulating Library at 9105 Cedar St. is open
the second Saturday of the month, 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.,
and by appointment.
|The Chappell Hill Circulating Library was organized in 1893 as a lending library. William G. Foote, Jr. started a library with his collection of fine books, including those of his father, Dr. W.G. Foote, Sr., chair at Soule University. Many books from the Chappell Hill Female College were donated to the Library during the school's closing in 1912.|
The present building was erected on Cedar Street in 1911 by the town's Civic Club. Owned and mantained by the Historical Society, the Library houses the original collections and volumes about Texas and Texana.
|The charming gazebo and nearby benches create an inviting picnic site. The gazebo is situated on the Library grounds.|